Apalion is a young tech company based in Wollerau with its front office in Zurich. Passionate specialists from the fields of media, IT, management and entertainment, supported by various freelancers, work every day to make smadooh MEDIA even more intelligent and as entertaining as ever.

Get in touch with us, we look forward to hearing from you!

#history

The origin was a personalized news app that collected individual content according to taste and transported it in a visually appealing way.

When the cell phone was placed in front of the mirror during a visit to the hairdresser and the app was activated, the idea of smadooh MEDIA was born.

#added value

How great would it be if an artificial intelligence could recognize gender and rough age and then broadcast individualized content to entertain the hairdresser’s guests?

Two major hurdles became apparent: on the one hand, the processing power of the devices at the time was not strong enough, and on the other hand, nationwide Internet bandwidth was not yet available everywhere. So the idea of “Salon TV” had to be put on hold for the time being until the idea was revived in 2019. After about a year of planning and preparation, the time had come in February 2021 and smadooh MEDIA went live with over 1,000 screens at 128 locations.

Since then, we have been providing new, exciting content every month, focusing on the best entertainment for the hairdresser guest

Milestones:

  • Mid 2015 – Foundation Apalion AG
  • Beginning of 2019 – resumption of the project “Salon TV
  • Mid-2020 – Gaining GIDOR Coiffure as a rollout partner
  • End of 2020 – building of team, creation of the brand “smadooh MEDIA”.
  • Early 2021 – go live with over 1,000 screens in 125 locations
  • Mid-2021 – Employees and network expansion
  • End of 2022 – Expansion of the sites to an integrated national network

#vision

With smadooh MEDIA, Apalion AG intends to establish an artificial intelligence-based DOOH network in Swiss hair salons (for the time being). Here, the A.I. plays a central role and serves as a trigger for prepared entertainment blocks, which are renewed monthly and broadcast according to age and gender. Entertainment quality plays a key factor here, and so we focus on regular surveys and ongoing optimization of entertainment blocks. Content is King!

smadooh MEDIA is the individual entertainment platform at the hairdresser. Item.

Thanks to frontal placement and above-average dwell time, smadooh MEDIA, in combination with precise targeting, offers the perfect complement to any media plan. With guaranteed performance values, transparent tracking and standardized reporting, we ensure a high level of planning reliability and efficiently spent advertising dollars.

#team

The smadooh MEDIA team consists of operational specialists from the areas of media, entertainment, tech and management and is concerned on a daily basis with the successful management of the DOOH network, both on a content and commercial level. The core team is supported by four freelancers in the production area (research, translation & editing/subtitling).
In addition to expertise, a broad cultural mix is just as important to us as a balanced gender ratio. We can proudly say that we have a 50/50 ratio and we speak German, English, French and Slovak.

#jobs

Currently there are no open positions at Apalion AG.
Blind applications are welcome to be sent directly to info@apalion.com

Die Apalion ist eine junge Tech-AG mit Sitz in Wollerau und hat ihr Frontoffice in Zürich. Leidenschaftliche Spezialisten aus den Bereichen Media, IT, Management und Entertainment, gestützt durch diverse Freelancer, arbeiten tagtäglich daran, smadooh MEDIA noch intelligenter und so unterhaltsam wie immer zu gestalten.

Treten sie in Kontakt mit uns, wir freuen uns über Ihre Kontaktaufnahme!

#history

 Ursprung war eine personalisierte Nachrichten-App, die individuelle Inhalte dem Gusto entsprechend sammelte und visuell ansprechend transportierte.

Als bei einem Coiffeur-Besuch das Handy vor den Spiegel gestellt und die App aktiviert wurde, war denn auch die Idee von smadooh MEDIA geboren.

#added value

Wie toll wäre es, wenn eine künstliche Intelligenz Geschlecht und grobes Alter erkennt um anschliessend individualisierte Inhalte auszustrahlen und die Coiffeur-Gäste zu unterhalten?

Es zeigten sich dabei zwei grosse Hürden: einerseits war die Prozessorleistung der damaligen Geräte nicht stark genug, andererseits war die flächendeckende Internetbandbreite noch nicht überall gegeben. So musste die Idee von „Salon TV“ vorerst auf Eis gelegt werden, bis die Idee 2019 wieder aufgegriffen wurde. Nach rund einem Jahr der Planung und Vorbereitung war es dann im Februar 2021 soweit und smadooh MEDIA ging mit über 1’000 Screens an 128 Standorten live.

Seither sorgen wir monatlich für neue, spannende Inhalte und setzen dabei auf beste Unterhaltung für den Coiffeur-Gast

Milestones:

  • Mitte 2015 – Gründung Apalion AG
  • Anfang 2019 – Wiederaufnahme Projekt „Salon TV“
  • Mitte 2020 – Gewinnung GIDOR Coiffure als Rolloutpartner
  • Ende 2020 – Aufbau von Team, Schaffung des Brands „smadooh MEDIA“
  • Anfang 2021 – go live mit über 1’000 Screens an 125 Standorten
  • Mitte 2021 – Mitarbeiter und Netzwerkausbau
  • Ende 2022 – Ausbau der Standorte auf eine gesamtheitliches Nationales Netzwerk

#vision

Die Apalion AG beabsichtigt mit smadooh MEDIA, flächendeckend ein auf künstliche Intelligenz basiertes DOOH-Netzwerk (vorerst) in Schweizer Coiffeur-Salons zu etablieren. Dabei spielt die k.I. eine zentrale Rolle und dient als Trigger für vorbereitete Unterhaltungsblöcke, die monatlich erneuert werden und dem Alter und Geschlecht gerecht ausgestrahlt werden. Die Unterhaltungsqualität spielt dabei ein wesentlicher Faktor und so fokussieren wir uns auf regelmässige Befragungen und auf eine laufende Optimierung der Unterhaltungsblöcke. Content is King!

smadooh MEDIA ist die individuelle Unterhaltungsplattform beim Coiffeur. Punkt.

Dank der frontalen Platzierung und der überdurchschnittlich hohen Verweildauer bietet smadooh MEDIA in Kombination mit präzisem Targeting die perfekte Ergänzung zu jedem Media-Plan. Mit garantierten Leistungswerten, transparentem Tracking und standardisiertem Reporting sorgen wir für eine hohe Planungssicherheit und einen effizient eingesetzten Werbefranken.

#team

Das Team von smadooh MEDIA besteht aus operativ tätigen Spezialisten aus den Bereichen Media, Entertainment, Tech und Management und sorgt sich täglich um die erfolgreiche Bewirtschaftung des DOOH-Netzwerks, sowohl auf inhaltlicher als auch auf kommerzieller Ebene. Dabei wird das Kernteam von vier freien Mitarbeitern im Produktionsbereich (Recherche, Übersetzung & Bearbeitung/Untertitelung) unterstützt.
Dabei ist uns nebst der Fachkenntnis eine breite kulturelle Durchmischung ebenso wichtig wie ein ausgeglichenes Verhältnis der Geschlechter. Mit stolz können wir sagen: Bei uns herrscht ein 50/50-Verhältnis und wir sprechen Deutsch, Englisch, Französisch und Slowakisch

#jobs

Aktuell sind keine offenen Stellen bei der Apalion AG ausgeschrieben.
Blindbewerbungen dürfen gerne direkt an info@apalion.com gesendet werden